How to Manage Patient Providers Follow
In this article
When creating a new patient's profile, you can assign the patient's provider and provider group. Your Content Administrator determines which providers and groups populate in the options and lists.
- On the Patient Profile page, click Add Providers.
The Providers window appears.
- In the Providers Group list, click the provider group for the provider. If you don't know the name of the provider group, you can skip this step as it will auto populate after you provide the provider's name (if it was added by your Content Administrator).
- In the Provider list, type the first few letters of the Provider's name, and the options available will appear in a list.
- If you have secondary providers, you can add them below the primary provider information.
You can delete a provider from a patient's profile. When you remove the provider, it does not remove them from the database, they will still be available as an option for other Care Team members to add to patients, as needed.
To remove the Provider Group or Primary Provider, delete the options you specified in the list.
To remove a secondary provider, use the trash can icon ().
For patients that are in a final status, the provider information on their profile will not change, even if the provider details are changed in the provider registry by a Content Administrator. For patients that are in a non final status, if details for the provider are changed in the provider registry (Configurations>Providers), the provider's details in the Patient Profile will also change.
This linking functionality means that the provider information on patient's profiles will stay current. For example, if the phone number is updated for provider John Doe in the provider registry, that change will be reflected on any Patent Profile where that provider exists in the Care Team Portal, as long as the patient is not in a final status.
A configuration exists that identifies when a provider is added in the Patient Profile rather than populated from the existing type ahead list (provider registry). If the configuration is set to false, any provider that is added by a Care Team member and not in the provider registry by the Content Administrator will have a broken link icon next to the provider name. This setting will only apply is enabled.